UpTheVote901 has announced a list of 20 candidates for citywide offices who will attend the People’s Convention at 11 a.m. Saturday, June 8 at Paradise Entertainment Center, 645 E. Georgia Ave. Released exclusively to MLK50: Justice Through Journalism, these individuals have agreed to attend the meeting to slate progressive candidates for the nonpartisan Oct. 3 Municipal Election. Several other candidates, like Mayor Jim Strickland and former Mayor Willie Herenton, will not be attending. The latest list of election petitions issued and filed can be found here. Convention attendees also will craft a People’s Agenda driven by responses to an UpTheVote issues survey answered by 2,200 people.

City Council

District 3

  • Patrice Robinson

District 4

  • Britney Thornton

District 6

  • Theryn C. Bond

District 7

  • Larry Springfield
  • Michalyn C.S. Easter-Thomas
  • Thurston Smith
  • Willie Richardson

Super District 8 — Position 1

  • Pearl Eva Walker
  • Nicole Cleaborn
  • J.B. Smiley

Super District 8 — Position 2

  • Frank W. Johnson

Super District 9 — Position 1

  • Erika Sugarmon

Super District 9 — Position 2

  • Mauricio Calvo
  • Deanielle Jones

City Court Clerk

  • Myron Lowery
  • Demeatrise Givens
  • Joe Brown


  • Tamara Sawyer
  • Lemichael Wilson

Municipal Judge

Division 3

  • Jayne Chandler

This story is brought to you by MLK50: Justice Through Journalism, a nonprofit reporting project on economic justice in Memphis. Support independent journalism by making a tax-deductible donation today. MLK50 is also supported by the Surdna Foundation and Community Change.